The S3 Interdisciplinary Seed Grant Program

The S3 Interdisciplinary Grant Program provides seed money to MSU interdisciplinary collaborations working on external grant proposals. To be eligible, collaborative teams must include at least one MSU STEM faculty or health professional and at least one MSU science studies faculty (a scholar using social science or humanities approaches to study science). The call for applications is made every fall semester and is assessed by the advisory board (see below) and Sean Valles, Director of S3 and Associate Professor in Lyman Briggs College and the Department of Philosophy.

S3 Advisory Board

Lyman Briggs College: Georgina Montgomery

James Madison College: Sharlissa Moore

College of Communication Arts and Sciences: Casey O’Donnell

Residential College in Arts and Humanities: Eric Aronoff

College of Engineering: Annick Anctil

College of Veterinary Medicine: Mike Chaddock

The Graduate School: Judith Stoddart

College of Education: David Stroupe

College of Social Science: Aaron McCright

College of Agriculture and Natural Resources: Brian Teppen

College of Arts and Letters: Kyle Whyte

College of Music: Mark Sullivan


If you would like more information about the S3 Collaborative Grant Program contact Sean Valles, S3 Director: